Haru-Sari.com
the graphic novel
a
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Go to
Haru-Sari.com -> Forum Index -> Site and Forum Related

Virus?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bael




Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:24 pm    Post subject: Virus? Reply with quote
Ok, I am a lurker, and I really only made this since I could not contact Keiii directly.

I was browsing the forums, and when I went into the Haru Sari portion to the Chapter discussion, my virus scanner told me the page was infected with malware or some kind of virus.

Just thought I'd let someone know. :x sorry if this is already known or whatnot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keiiii
Site Admin



Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 1415
Location: Right behind you...

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
That's the first time I've ever heard of anything like that happening here. Which link was it, precisely? The "Chapter 15 discussion" one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Maemori




Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Location: Shanghai

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hm. I'm not sure about that, but I did get this questionable message from "LadyXAdmin":


Dear, Maemori!

A virus alert was noticed on your computer.
We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: http://antivirus.effectmeds.com/Maemori
----------------------------------------------------
Sincerely, Forum Administration haru-sari.com.


I'm hoping that no one else who got this message clicked that link, because I am willing to bet money that it leads to installation of malware. So just to let you guys know - and maybe suggest a mass message telling people not to click?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keiiii
Site Admin



Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 1415
Location: Right behind you...

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
That would be spam. If you receive any messages like that in the future, please let me know so I can deal with it. They avoid messaging admin accounts, so I have no idea of knowing otherwise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kafine




Joined: 04 Jul 2008
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just got one of those spam PMs too, from account "JosephWard".
_________________
"Are we not all, in some way, looking for our cow?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Uronoro




Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:23 am    Post subject: Virus Reply with quote
I'd put my money on that it's a computer virus contagion. I have encountered a computer recently inundated with a virus from a similar type of source, and that computer can't even boot in safe mode.

Ignore it, report it, throw a few four letter words at it, but don't click that link. Your accounts are fine.
_________________
The Junk Rat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mythee




Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
I received a PM like that too from "JosephWard".
So yeah, the site's got spammy viruses claiming to be admins, honoes!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dragon master




Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 1189
Location: Wouldn't you like to know ...

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Same here.
_________________
Moneywise I'm set for life, provided I die on Tuesday.
My Avatar was made by NortheasternWind.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anaranen




Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Posts: 705
Location: Betelgeuse

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Same here LOL ... Who the hell is this JosephWard guy anyways?
_________________


The Sleepless Wanderer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Callieco Kat




Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 11
Location: Far Far Away

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 3:22 pm    Post subject: Spammers Reply with quote
I got one today too from JosephWard. Claiming my pc was sending out viruses, that he was an admin, and would be deleting my account if I don't pass the scan in the link. >.>
_________________
You may think I'm crazy, but you're the one complaining about everything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Dragon master




Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 1189
Location: Wouldn't you like to know ...

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
IMPORTANT

Okay, I clicked the link, because my computer does actually have a few minor/irritating viruses. It looked like a genuine enough site so I let it go ahead and "Scan" my computer ...

My computer is now infected with a worm that is stealing personal information AND blocking all programs from working, as a result I have to write this on my mothers laptop.

Long Story Short: I can't be 100% certain but I think that it's a virus, I think it's a dangerous virus, DON'T CLICK ON THE LINK UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES!
_________________
Moneywise I'm set for life, provided I die on Tuesday.
My Avatar was made by NortheasternWind.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Haru-Sari.com Forum Index -> Site and Forum Related All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Template/Skin (ChunkStyle) by ©Russellc (TheChunk.no-ip.com)
Best viewed in Mozilla Firefox 0.8
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP

© 2005 Min Kwon unless noted otherwise. All Rights Reserved. No use without permission.